urban danceprix - showcontest

General information

The competition is a show dance contest for urban dances. Dance groups of 4 to 16 people from the age of 16 years can apply. At the final, a jury of experts and the audience decide on the distribution of the prize money.

 The following prize money will be awarded:
1st prize: 2,000 €
2nd prize: 1,000 €
3rd prize: 500 €
Audience Award: 500 €

The term "urban dances" comprises a large number of individual dance styles that have developed in the urban environment of the last 40 years in the metropolises of the world. Forerunners in many areas have been and continue to be protagonists in US cities, with strong influences from Central Europe and Japan in the past 15-20 years. The dance styles and developments have spread throughout the world via the media such as film, TV and, more recently, the Internet. The different dance styles were influenced by hip-hop culture and their musical references of funk, rhythm and blues, soul, rap, and house music. The best known dance styles are Locking, Boogaloo, Popping, Breakdance / B-Boying, Soulfunk, Hip Hop Nu Style, Housedance, Krumping, Turfing, C-Walk and Jerking. Organizations that would give structure to the urban dance as an art form do not exist, possibly due to the peculiarity of these dances of foregrounding own creativity and originality of the individual dancer or the group. This goes hand in hand with a steady development and change of the dance styles.

  

Idea giver

The Biberach Funky Kids, local representatives of urban dance, expect the danceprix to draw attention to the extensive hip hop dance-specific environment in Biberach. The event will provide motivation and inspiration for daily training, especially to young dancers.

 

Organizer

The city of Biberach as organizer in cooperation with Jugend Aktiv e.V. is expanding its offer with the urban danceprix and thus reaches children, adolescents, young adults, and families with the event being suitable and attractive for all ages.

 

Organization

Funky Kids: Natalie Molker, Sebnem Piotti, Andreas Schröder and Nico Zimmermann

City of Biberach, Cultural Office: Klaus Buchmann, Julian Gröschl, Rebecca Schwatz and Marita Fäßler

 

Visuals: Anne Thamm

urban danceprix - showcontest

Allgemeine Infos

Bei dem Wettbewerb handelt es sich um einen Showtanzwettbewerb für urbane Tänze. Es können sich Tanzgruppen von 4 bis 16 Personen ab einem Alter von 16 Jahren bewerben. Beim Finale entscheidet dann eine Fachjury und das Publikum über die Verteilung der Preisgelder. 

Folgende Preisgelder werden vergeben:
1. Preis: 2.000 €
2. Preis: 1.000 €
3. Preis: 500 €
Publikumspreis: 500 €

Hinter dem Begriff „urbane Tänze“ verbergen sich eine Vielzahl einzelner Tanzstile, die sich im urban geprägten Umfeld der letzten 40 Jahre in den Metropolen der Welt entwickelt haben. Vorreiter in vielen Bereichen waren und sind Protagonisten in den USamerikanischen Großstädten wobei in den vergangenen 15-20 Jahren auch starke Einflüsse aus Mitteleuropa und Japan zu erkennen sind. Weltweite Verbreitung erfuhren die Tanzstile und Entwicklungen über Medien wie Film, TV und in letzter Zeit das Internet. Maßgeblich beeinflusst wurden die verschiedenen Tanzstile durch die untrennbar verbundene HipHop-Kultur und deren musikalische Bezüge aus Funk, Rhythm and Blues, Soul, Rap und Housemusik. So sind aktuell die bekanntesten Tanzstile die des Locking, Boogaloo, Popping, Breakdance/B-Boying, Soulfunk, HipHop Nu Style, Housedance, Krumping, Turfing, C-Walk und Jerking. Organisationen, die dem urbanen Tanzbereich Struktur geben würden, gibt es nicht, was nicht zuletzt mit der besonderen Eigenart dieser Tänze zusammenhängt, bei der die eigene Kreativität und Originalität des einzelnen Tänzers bzw. der Gruppe im Vordergrund steht und mit denen damit eine stetige Entwicklung und Veränderung der Tanzstile einhergeht.

Ideengeber

Die Biberacher Funky Kids als Ideengeber und lokaler Vertreter des modernen, urbanen Tanzbereichs versprechen sich mit einer solchen Veranstaltung Aufmerksamkeit für das große und umfangreiche HipHop-tanzspezifische Umfeld in Biberach. Insbesondere beim eigenen Nachwuchs wird die Veranstaltung Motivation und Inspiration ins tägliche Training tragen.

Veranstalter

Die Stadt Biberach als Veranstalter in Kooperation mit Jugend Aktiv e.V. baut mit dem urban danceprix ihr Angebot aus und erreicht damit ganz besonders auch Kinder, Jugendliche, junge Erwachsene und Familien, wobei die Veranstaltung für jedes Alter geeignet und attraktiv ist.

Organisation

Funky Kids: Natalie Molker, Sebnem Piotti, Andreas Schröder und Nico Zimmermann

Stadt Biberach, Kulturamt: Klaus Buchmann, Julian Gröschl, Rebecca Schwatz und Marita Fäßler

Grafik: Anne Thamm